Project Outline

A preliminary research carried out in 2003 entitled Effective Violence Prevention and Intervention among Children and Adolescents in Zurich had the aim of providing support to the authorities of the City of Zurich Council in choosing appropriate prevention programmes. The study researched the existing prevention and intervention structures and developed recommendations for effective prevention programmes.

The collaboration between the City Authorities and the research team led to the creation of the Zurich Intervention and Prevention Project at Schools (zipps) in 2004, entailing two complementing projects. One of these were two intervention programmes - Triple Pand PATHS - were implemented in randomly selected primary schools in the context of the Zurich Programme for the Promotion of Social Skills in Schools (z-ok). The programme management and financing was coordinated by the School and Sport Department of the City of Zurich Council. Completing Triple P and Paths was the Zurich Project on the Development of Children (z-proso) - supported by the Institute of Education of the University of Zurich – which measures the effectiveness of the two intervention programmes and on a broader scale the social development of children. This programme is still ongoing.

The first findings on the effectiveness of the implemented intervention programmes were presented in 2007. The aim of the second and third research-phase (2007-2013) is to measure the long-term effects of the two prevention programmes.

Sample

The target population of the research is children who started first grade of public primary school in the City of Zurich in 2004. The sampling and the allocation to the different treatment conditions were carried out at school level. Out of a sampling frame of all primary schools, 56 primary schools with 113 first grade classes were randomly selected by means of a stratified sampling procedure. Fourteen schools were allocated to each of the 4 treatment conditions: "control group"; "PATHS-group"; "TripleP-group"; "PATHS/TripleP-group".

1'675 children entered first grade in the selected schools in autumn 2004. Parents of 1'366 children (82 %) allowed the participation of their child in the surveys. 1'240 mothers and fathers (74 %) agreed to participate in the surveys themselves.

Compared to other similar research studies - also at international level - the participation rate can be regarded as outstanding, particularly when considering the multicultural sampling.

Projektaufbau

Die im Jahr 2003 durchgeführte Studie Grundlagen wirksamer Gewaltprävention in der Stadt Zürich (PDF, 1.1 MB) setzte sich zum Ziel, die Behörden der Stadt Zürich bei der Auswahl von geeigneten Präventionsprogrammen zu unterstützen. Die Studie untersuchte die bestehenden Präventions- und Interventionsstrukturen und erarbeitete Empfehlungen für Präventionsprogramme.

Aus der Zusammenarbeit zwischen den städtischen Behörden und dem Projektteam entstand 2004 das Zürcher Interventions- und Präventionsprogramm an Schulen (zipps). Es beinhaltet zwei sich ergänzende Projekte: Im Rahmen des Zürcher Programmzur Förderung sozialer Kompetenzen an Schulen (z-ok) wurden die zwei Präventionsprogramme Triple P und PFADE in zufällig ausgewählten Schulklassen der ersten und zweiten Primarschule umgesetzt. Die Programmumsetzung wurde vom Schul- und Sportdepartement der Stadt Zürichkoordiniert und finanziert. Das Zürcher Projekt zur sozialen Entwicklung von Kindern (z-proso) prüft fortlaufend die Wirksamkeit dieser beiden Programme und erforscht weiter die soziale Entwicklung von Kindern und Jugendlichen.

Im Jahr 2007 wurden die ersten Ergebnisse zur Wirksamkeit der Präventionsprogramme präsentiert. Im Rahmen der 2. und 3. Projektphase (2007 bis 2013) sollen unter anderem die langfristigen Wirkungen der beiden Präventionsprogramme evaluiert werden.

Stichprobe

Die Grundgesamtheit der Studie bilden alle Kinder aus der Stadt Zürich, die im Jahr 2004 in die erste Klasse der öffentlichen Primarschule eingetreten sind. Die Stichprobenziehung und die Zuweisung zu den Interventionsbedingungen erfolgten auf der Ebene der Schulhäuser. Zunächst wurden mit Hilfe eines geschichteten Stichprobenverfahrens 56 Primarschulen mit 113 ersten Klassen zufällig ausgewählt. Anschliessend wurden je 14 Schulhäusern zufällig vier Versuchsbedingungen zugewiesen: der "Kontrollgruppe"; der "PFADE-Gruppe"; der "TripleP-Gruppe" und der "PFADE/TripleP-Gruppe".

Im Herbst 2004 traten 1'675 Kinder in die erste Klasse der ausgewählten Primarschulen ein. Die Eltern von 1'366 Kindern (82 %) waren mit der Teilnahme ihrer Kinder an der Studie einverstanden. 1'240 Mütter und Väter (74 %) waren bereit, selbst für Interviews zur Verfügung zu stehen.

Diese Teilnahmerate kann angesichts der multikulturellen Zusammensetzung der Stichprobe als hervorragend bezeichnet werden, auch im Vergleich zu ähnlichen Studien auf internationaler Ebene.