Social Genomics Workshop

Workshop Dinner Hosted by Social Genomics Group

The Social Genomics group of the Jacobs Center hosted a dinner at the Limmat river in Zurich for visiting scholars Lauren Gaydosh (Assistant Professor at the Center for Medicine, Health, and Society, Vanderbilt University), Kathie Harris (James E. Haar Distinguished Professor, Sociology and Carolina Population Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), and Steve Cole (Professor of Medicine and Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences in the UCLA School of Medicine).

“Locals” included Justin Chumbley (Research Scientist, Jacobs Center), Cecilia Potente (Post Doctoral Fellow, Jacobs Center), Mike Shanahan (Professor of Child and Youth Development, Jacobs Center & Sociology, UZH) and Lilly Shanahan (Professor of Clinical Developmental Psychology, Jacobs Center & Psychology, UZH).

The group has been working on newly available data in the Add Health study that was collected with NIH funding that the team acquired. The new data allows the team to connect people’s experiences from as early as childhood to their gene expression patterns in their late 30ies.

Social Genomics Group

Workshop Dinner, July 21, 2018

Social Genomics Group

Workshop-Dinner der Social Genomics Gruppe


Die Forschungsgruppe für soziale Genomik des Jacobs Centers veranstaltete ein Abendessen an der Limmat in Zürich für Gastwissenschaftler Lauren Gaydosh (Assistenzprofessorin am Zentrum für Medizin, Gesundheit und Gesellschaft, Vanderbilt Universität), Kathie Harris (James E. Haar Distinguished Professor, Soziologie und Carolina Population Center an der University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), und Steve Cole (Professor für Medizin und Psychiatrie und Biobehavioral Sciences an der UCLA School of Medicine).

Zu den "Einheimischen" gehörten Justin Chumbley (Research Scientist, Jacobs Center), Cecilia Potente (Post Doctoral Fellow, Jacobs Center), Mike Shanahan (Professor für Kinder- und Jugendentwicklung, Jacobs Center & Soziologisches Institut, UZH), und Lilly Shanahan (Professorin für Klinische Entwicklungspsychologie, Jacobs Center & Psychologisches Institut, UZH).

Die Arbeit dieser Gruppe konzentriert sich derzeit auf neu verfügbare Daten in der "Add Health"-Studie, die mit NIH (National Institutes of Health)-Mitteln gesammelt wurden, die das Team erworben hat. Diese neuen Daten ermöglichen es dem Team, die Erfahrungen der Menschen in der Kindheit mit ihren Genexpressionsmustern zu verbinden wenn diese Menschen Ende 30 sind.

Social Genomics Group

Workshop-Dinner, 21. Juli 2018