Study Aims

Rising social inequality and diminishing returns to education make early investment in children's different living environments (Lebenswelten) – their learning, leisure, and school – increasingly important for their development, well-being, and academic achievement. In particular, structural changes in the family, limited time budgets, and changing learning and support networks require adaptations in individual and collaborative learning.

To create new knowledge to promote organizational skills to learn, especially time structuring and planning skills, executive functions, and sleep, we develop and evaluate targeted interventions that involve all stakeholders (parents, teachers, child) in the design of healthy, developmentally stimulating daily routines and to facilitate both communication and networking among parents, teachers, and children. We pay special attention to transitional phases (e.g. starting school, changes within and between schools), in which structural changes take place in a natural way, and roles, relations and identity evolve. How do children and parents develop daily routines (leisure activities, time with the family, time with the child) that contribute to child development and learning, and why do some find it easier than others? How do families support their children’s acquisition of organizational skills to learn, especially during school transitions (e.g., do they discuss everyday experiences in the family)? How can social networks help children develop healthy daily routines that promote development? How quickly do social networks and daily routines consolidate after school transitions, and how does the pace of adaptation affect a child's learning, development, and well-being? These are the main questions we are exploring.

Key dimensions related to these questions are as follows:

Well-being and development

Based on theoretical work by Brooks-Gunn (1990) and Deci and Ryan (2008), our understanding of well-being and development includes 6 dimensions: Academic, cognitive, social emotional, somatic, physical, and behavioral. In addition, we distinguish subjective and objective dimensions of well-being in analogy to the distinction chosen by UNICEF: Material security, health, education, housing situation, and regional conditions. A combined analysis of these dimensions allows us to gain more precise insights into mechanisms of child development and well-being in different domains of life.

Family as a site for learning

The family, including co-resident adults and siblings, is an important site of socialization and learning, and thus, along with the school environment, an essential place where "learning" occurs, experiences are gained, and behavior is tested (Reardon, 2011; Snow, 2020). Especially school transitions are key moments in which the role of the family in learning is redefined, social relations and identity evolve. Observing different families´ ability to accompany children in such transitions contributes to explain heterogeneity in children's learning, development, and well-being. Our goal is to survey objective conditions such as family structure, socioeconomic status, and parental educational attainment, as well as social (e.g., family relationships) and cultural (e.g., language, migration background, media use, attitudes) conditions for their association with children's development and well-being.

The following questions guide our project:

  • How do parents support their children in their development and learning?
  • What social and cultural differences (e.g. parental involvement, educational aspirations, attitudes) are apparent in the structuring and co-creation of the family as a place of learning - in the sense of structuring everyday life, time use, parental organization, media use?
  • What influence does the family context, parental values and identity, and its everyday organization have on children's individual abilities, motivation, and school self-assessments ?

Learning in and through relationships

Social networks are sites of learning, emotional support, or information sharing (Putnam, 1993). We explore the role of social networks around families and their children to find out what role they have in learning progress and child development. In doing so, we focus on the role of networks in the emergence of conditions conducive to learning and child development in general.

The following questions guide our project:

  • What role do social networks (parent-child-teacher) play in promoting children's developmental progress, learning, and well-being?
  • How do social networks facilitate school transitions or changes?
  • What predicts variation in consolidating social networks and time allocation patterns after school transitions, and how does this impact learning, wellbeing and development?

 

The project is structured in the following phases

Studienziel

Die zunehmende soziale Ungleichheit und sinkende Bildungsrenditen machen frühe Investitionen in die verschiedenen Lebenswelten von Kindern, ihr Lernen, Freizeit, Schule, immer wichtiger für ihre Entwicklung, ihr Wohlbefinden und ihre schulischen Leistungen. Insbesondere  der Strukturwandel der Familie, knappe Zeitbudgets und sich verändernde Lern- und Unterstützungsnetze erfordern Anpassungen im individuellen und gemeinsamen Lernen.

Um neues Wissen zur Förderung organisatorischer Fähigkeiten zum Lernen zu schaffen, insbesondere Zeitstrukturierungs- und Planungsfähigkeiten, exekutive Funktionen und Schlaf, entwickeln und evaluieren wir gezielte Interventionen, die alle Beteiligten (Eltern, Lehrer, Kind) in die Gestaltung gesunder, entwicklungsfördernder Tagesabläufe einbeziehen und sowohl die Kommunikation als auch die Vernetzung zwischen Eltern, Lehrern und Kindern erleichtern. Besonderes Augenmerk legen wir dabei auf Übergangsphasen (z.B. Einschulung, Wechsel innerhalb und zwischen Schulen), in denen sich strukturelle Veränderungen auf natürliche Weise vollziehen und sich Rollen, Beziehungen und Identität entwickeln. Wie entwickeln Kinder und Eltern tägliche Routinen (Freizeitaktivitäten, Zeit mit der Familie, Zeit mit dem Kind), die zur kindlichen Entwicklung und zum Lernen beitragen, und warum fällt es manchen leichter als anderen? Wie unterstützen Familien den Erwerb von organisatorischen Fähigkeiten ihrer Kinder zum Lernen, insbesondere bei Schulübergängen (z.B. werden Alltagserfahrungen in der Familie besprochen)? Wie können soziale Netzwerke Kindern helfen, gesunde und entwicklungsfördernde Alltagsroutinen zu entwickeln? Wie schnell festigen sich soziale Netzwerke und Alltagsroutinen nach Schulübergängen und wie wirkt sich das Tempo der Anpassung auf das Lernen, die Entwicklung und das Wohlbefinden eines Kindes aus? Dies sind die Hauptfragen, die wir erforschen.

Wesentliche Dimensionen, die in Zusammenhang mit diesen Fragen erhoben werden, sind folgende:

Wohlergehen und Entwicklung

Basierend auf theoretischen Arbeiten von Brooks-Gunn (1990) und Deci/Ryan (2008) umfasst unser Verständnis von Wohlergehen und Entwicklung 6 Dimensionen: Akademisch/kognitiv, sozial emotional, somatisch, physisch und behavioral. Zusätzlich dazu unterscheiden wir subjektive und objektive Dimensionen von Wohlergehen in Analogie zu der von UNICEF gewählten Unterscheidung: Materielle Sicherheit, Gesundheit, Bildung, Wohnsituation, und regionale Gegebenheiten. Eine kombinierte Analyse dieser Dimensionen ermöglicht es uns genauere Erkenntnisse über Mechanismen der Entwicklung und des Wohlergehens von Kindern in verschiedenen Lebensbereichen zu gewinnen. Zusammenhänge zwischen verschiedenen Lebensbereichen und.

Familie als Lernort

Die Familie, einschliesslich im selben Haushalt wohnhafte Erwachsene und Geschwister, ist ein wichtiger Sozialisierungs- und Lernort, und somit neben dem schulischen Umfeld, ein wesentlicher Ort an dem “Lernen” gelernt wird, Erfahrungen gesammelt und Verhalten getestet wird (Reardon, 2011; Snow, 2020). Insbesondere Schulübergänge sind Schlüsselmomente der Neudefinition der Rolle der Familie beim Lernen. Die Beobachtung der Fähigkeit verschiedener Familien, Kinder bei solchen Übergängen zu begleiten, trägt dazu bei, Heterogenität im Lernen, in der Entwicklung und im Wohlbefinden der Kinder zu erklären. Unser Ziel ist es sowohl objektive Bedingungen wie Familienstruktur, sozioökonomischer Status und elterliches Bildungsniveau zu erheben, wie auch soziale (Bsp. familiäre Beziehungen) und kulturelle (Bsp. Sprache, Migrationshintergrund, Mediennutzung) auf deren Zusammenhang mit der Entwicklung und dem Wohlergehen von Kindern zu untersuchen.

Folgende Fragen leiten unser Projekt:

  • Wie unterstützen Eltern ihre Kinder in ihrer Entwicklung und im Lernen?
  • Welche sozialen und kulturellen  (Bsp. elterliches Engagement, Bildungsaspirationen) Unterschiede fallen bei der Strukturierung und Mitgestaltung des Lernortes Familie – im Sinne von Alltagsstrukturierung, Zeitnutzung, elterlicher Organisation, Mediennutzung – auf?
  • Welchen Einfluss haben der familiäre Kontext der Familie und deren Alltagsorganisation auf individuelle Fähigkeiten, Motivation, und schulische Selbsteinschätzungen von Kindern?

Lernen in und durch Beziehungen

Soziale Netzwerke sind Orte des Lernens, des emotionalen Rückhalts oder des Austausches von Information (Putnam, 1993). Wir erforschen die Rolle von sozialen Netzwerken rund um Familien und deren Kinder, um herauszufinden, welche Rolle diese für den Lernfortschritt und die Kindesentwicklung haben. Dabei richten wir den Fokus auf die Rolle von Netzwerken in der Entstehung lernfördernder Rahmenbedingungen und der Entwicklung von Kindern im allgemeinen.

Folgende Fragen leiten unser Projekt:

  • Welche Rolle spielen soziale Netzwerke (Eltern-Kind-Lehrer) in der Förderung von Entwicklung, Lernfortschritt und Wohlergehen von Kindern?
  • Wie unterstützen soziale Netzwerke Kinder bei Schulübergängen und Schulwechsel?
  • Welche Faktoren bestimmen wie rasch sich soziale Netzwerke nach solchen Übergängen konsolidieren, und wie beeinflussen diese Prozesse Lernen, Entwicklung, und Wohlergehen?

 

Das Projekt ist gegliedert in folgenden Studienablauf