Study Phases

Current

In phase 1, Jacobs Center researchers conducted several expert discussions and a qualitative study with children, parents, teachers, and policymakers on young people's self- and social competencies. The aim was to identify which competencies are needed to achieve better learning outcomes or to cope better with drastic experiences in the family or at school.

Qualitative Study: School as preparation for life in society (PDF, 19 MB)

Building on this, a roundtable with experts from the relevant disciplines is planned for 2021 in the communities of Zurich and Lausanne to assess the more precise resources and needs in the area of learning support at the interface of schools and families.

Planned studies

In phase 2 (2021/22), it is planned to develop data collection instruments and coordinated measures in the form of low-threshold interventions at the child, family and teacher levels. An expert group from the field of educational planning, pedagogics, schools, and other experts in child development and learning will identify needs to promote development and learning.

In phase 3 (start: 2022), various accompanying projects are planned. Comparative and longitudinal studies will provide a differentiated insight into the learning organization of families of all social groups across different schools and time periods and identify evidence-based needs gaps. This should enable further improvement and evaluation of the sustainability of interventions at the child, parent, and teacher levels.

In phase 4, a synthesis of scientific results, a cost/benefit analysis of the different interventions and the formulation of conclusions for practice are planned.

Studienablauf

Aktuell

In Phase 1 haben Forschende des Jacobs Centers mehrere Expertendiskussionen und eine qualitative Studie mit Kindern, Eltern, Lehrpersonen und politischen Entscheidungsträgern zu Selbst- und Sozialkompetenzen von jungen Menschen durchgeführt. Dabei ging es darum aufzuzeigen, welche Kompetenzen es braucht, um bessere Lernerfolge zu erzielen oder einschneidende Erlebnisse in Familie oder Schule besser bewältigen zu können.

Qualitative Study: School as preparation for life in society (PDF, 19 MB)

Aufbauend, ist für 2021 ein Roundtable mit Experten der relevanten Fachbereiche in Zürich und Lausanne geplant, um die genaueren Ressourcen und den Bedarf im Bereich der Lernförderung an der Schnittstelle von Schulen und Familie zu erfassen.

Geplante Studien

In Phase 2 (2021/22), ist vorgesehen, koordinierte Massnahmen in Form niederschwelliger Interventionen auf Kindes-, Familien- und Lehrpersonenebene zu entwickeln. Ebenso soll skizziert werden, wie Kinder aus bildungsfernen Familien basale Lernkompetenzen, gesunde Alltagsroutinen sowie ein Zugehörigkeitsgefühl zum Rest der Schulklasse entwickeln.

In Phase 3 (Start: 2022), sind verschiedene Begleitprojekte vorgesehen. Vergleichs- und Längsschnittstudien sollen einen differenzierten Einblick in die Lernorganisation von Familien aller sozialen Gruppen über verschiedene Schulen und Zeiträume hinweg ermöglichen und evidenz-basiert Bedarfsdefizite aufzeigen. Dadurch soll die Nachhaltigkeit von Interventionen auf Kindes-, Eltern-, und Lehrerebene weiter verbessert und evaluiert werden können.

In Phase 4 ist eine Synthese wissenschaftlicher Ergebnisse, eine Kosten-/Nutzenanalyse der verschiedene Interventionen und das Ausformulieren von Folgerungen  für die Praxis vorgesehen.