Orange Banner

Survey Design

COCON is a comparative longitudinal study that examines three age groups at three prototypical stages of growing up: 6 year-olds (mid-childhood), 15 year-olds (mid-adolescence) and 21 year-olds (late youth or early adulthood).

The most important caregivers for the 6- and 15-year-olds were also included in the survey; the parent who does the most supervision and spends the most time with the child (principal caregiver) as well as the most important instructor, such as the kindergarten teacher or main class teacher.

The two younger cohorts were interviewed every three years within the framework of the representative longitudinal study. Additionally, further survey data was collected both shortly before and after important transitions, such as school entry or the start of an apprenticeship. This takes into consideration that not necessarily all children and adolescents of the same age undergo important transitions at the same time.

Cocon Diagramm

COCON consists of both a representative and an intensive study. The representative part includes about 3,000 children, adolescents and young adults, who give interviews on a wide range of topics. The intensive study is conceptualised as a supplement to the representative study for the 6 year-olds and is carried out with 175 additional children. It focuses on topics regarding developmental psychology and aims to investigate specific aspects in more depth, such as moral development in mid-childhood. Thereby important instruments of measurement can be validated in the representative study. For psychological questions, these are usually in the form of extensive scales, which could not be used in the wider representative study for methodological and practical reasons. On the other hand, the psychological development side of COCON can be extended.

Sampling

In the representative study, a two-step process was used for sampling. In the first step, municipalities were chosen. In the second step, children, adolescents and young adults in the chosen age groups were taken from the corresponding resident registers. This two-step process was also used for the sampling in the intensive study, whereby the choice of municipalities was not carried out according to representative criteria.

Orange Banner

Forschungsdesign

COCON ist als Langzeitstudie angelegt und untersucht vergleichend drei Altersgruppen, die drei prototypische Stadien des Aufwachsens repräsentieren: 6-Jährige (mittlere Kindheit), 15-Jährige (mittlere Adoleszenz) sowie 21-Jährige (spätes Jugend- beziehungsweise frühes Erwachsenenalter).

Bei den 6- und 15-Jähigen werden neben den Kindern und Jugendlichen auch die wichtigsten Bezugspersonen in die Untersuchung einbezogen. Es handelt sich dabei um den Elternteil, der am meisten Betreuungsarbeit leistet (Hauptbetreuungsperson) sowie um die wichtigste Lehrperson in Form der Kindergärtnerin oder der Hauptlehrerin/des Hauptlehrers.

Die beiden jüngeren Kohorten werden im Rahmen der repräsentativen Längsschnittstudie weiterverfolgt und alle drei Jahre befragt. Zudem werden kurz vor und nach wichtigen Übergängen wie beispielsweise dem Schuleintritt oder dem Übertritt in die Berufsausbildung zusätzliche Datenerhebungen durchgeführt. Dies trägt dem Umstand Rechnung, dass wichtige Übergänge nicht von allen gleichaltrigen Kindern und Jugendlichen gleichzeitig durchlaufen werden.

Cocon Diagramm

COCON besteht aus einer Repräsentativ- und einer Intensivstudie. Im repräsentativen Teil stehen rund 3000 Kinder, Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene im Zentrum, die mit thematisch breit angelegten Fragebögen mündlich befragt werden. Die Intensivstudie ist als Ergänzung der Repräsentativstudie für die 6-Jährigen konzipiert und wird mit 175 zusätzlichen Kindern durchgeführt. Sie fokussiert entwicklungspsychologische Fragestellungen und erforscht bestimmte Aspekte wie beispielsweise die moralische Entwicklung im mittleren Kindesalter vertieft. Damit werden einerseits wichtige Messinstrumente der Repräsentativstudie validiert. Diese werden für psychologische Fragestellungen in der Regel durch umfangreiche Skalen abgefragt, was in der breit angelegten Repräsentativstudie aus methodischen und forschungspraktischen Gründen nicht realisierbar war. Andererseits wird dadurch die entwicklungspsychologische Seite von COCON ausgebaut.

Stichprobenziehung

Für die Ziehung der Repräsentativstudie wurde ein zweistufiges Verfahren eingesetzt. Im ersten Schritt wurden Gemeinden ausgewählt. Im zweiten Schritt sind innerhalb der Gemeinden Kinder, Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene der gewünschten Jahrgänge aus den Einwohnerregistern gezogen worden. Auch die Stichprobe für die Intensivstudie wurde nach diesem zweistufigen Verfahren gezogen, wobei die Gemeindeauswahl nicht nach Repräsentativitätskriterien durchgeführt wurde.