Current Research Projects

Diseases of Despair in Young Adulthood: Risk, Resilience, and Prevention

This study conducts a series of secondary data analyses, drawing on the National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health), the Great Smoky Mountains Study (GSMS), and the Fast Track study to shed light on pathways from childhood/adolescent strain to social and economic disengagement from society to despair and diseases of despair (i.e., suicidal thoughts and behaviors, illicit drug use, and alcohol problems).

Dynamic Modeling of Resilience (DynaMORE)

This project creates mechanistically targeted interventions for the primary prevention of stress-related disorders. Specifically, this research will generate a personalized in-silico model of mental health in the face of adversity. This project is conducted in collaboration with an interdisciplinary team from 10+ research centers in Europe, including with Prof. Dr. Birgit Kleim at the Department of Psychology & the Department of Psychiatry, Psychotherapy, and Psychosomatics at UZH.

Pathways from Childhood Self-Regulation to Cardiovascular Risk in Adolescence (RIGHT Track Health study)

This study tests whether and how physiological, emotional, and behavioral self-regulation during childhood predicts cardiovascular risk in late adolescence in a community sample in the United States. The study also tests whether these associations are mediated by health behaviors during adolescence (e.g., exercise, nutrition, and sleep). This project is conducted by an interdisciplinary team from Developmental, Clinical, and Quantitative Psychology, Pediatrics, Exercise Physiology, and Nutrition.

Multimorbidity in Children and Youth Across the LIFEcourse (MY LIFE) Study

This study documents the course of mental health symptoms and services use among youth with a newly diagnosed chronic physical illness (e.g., asthma, diabetes) in Canada. It also identifies biological, individual, family, and community predictors of mental disorder among these youth. This project is conducted by an interdisciplinary team from Public Health, Pediatrics, Exercise Physiology, and Developmental and Clinical Psychology.

Life-Course Model of Early Substance Use

This study tests a life-course model of early substance use in a community-representative study in the United States. The goal is to characterize both: a) the early psychosocial and biological risk and resilience environment of early substance use, and b) the long-term outcomes of such early use. This project is conducted by an interdisciplinary team from Psychology, Psychiatry, Public Health, and Biostatistics.

Aktuelle Forschungsprojekte

“Krankheiten der Verzweiflung” im jungen Erwachsenenalter: Risiko, Resilienz und Prävention

Diese Studie führt eine Reihe von sekundären Datenanalysen durch, die sich auf die National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health), die Great Smoky Mountains Study (GSMS) und die Fast Track-Studie stützen, um Entwicklungswege zu “Krankheiten der Verzweiflung” (d.h. Selbstmordgedanken und -verhalten, illegaler Drogenkonsum und Alkoholprobleme) im Erwachsenenenalter zu verstehen.

Dynamische Modellierung von Resilienz (DynaMORE)

In diesem Projekt werden mechanistisch gezielte Interventionen zur Primärprävention von stressbezogenen Störungen entworfen. Konkret wird ein personalisiertes in silico Model der psychischen Gesundheit angesichts von Stress und schwierigen Lebensumständen entwickelt. Durchgeführt wird dieses Projekt in Kollaboration mit einem interdisziplinären Team aus mehr als 10 Forschungszentren in Europa, inklusive mit Prof. Dr. Birgit Kleim vom UZH Psychologischen Institut und Institut für Psychiatrie, Psychotherapie und Psychosomatik.

Entwicklungswege von kindlicher Selbstregulation zu kardiovaskulären Risiken in der Adoleszenz (RIGHT Track Health study)

Diese Studie untersucht, ob und wie physiologische, emotionale und verhaltensbezogene Selbstregulation in der Kindheit die Entwicklung kardiovaskulärer Risiken in der späten Adoleszenz prädiziert. Die Studie prüft auch, ob diese Assoziationen vom Gesundheitsverhalten (z.B. Sport, Ernährung, Schlaf) während der Adoleszenz mediiert werden. Das Forschungsteam ist interdisziplinär und kommt aus der Entwicklungs-, Klinischen und Quantitativen Psychologie, der Pädiatrie, Sportphysiologie und den Ernährungswissenschaften.

Multimorbidität bei Kindern und Jugendlichen im Lebensverlauf (MY LIFE Studie)

Diese Studie dokumentiert den Verlauf von Symptomen im Bereich der psychischen Gesundheit und die Inanspruchnahme von Gesundheitsdiensten bei Jugendlichen in Kanada, die kürzlich eine chronische Krankheitsdiagnose (z.B. Asthma, Diabetes) erhalten haben. Es werden auch biologische, individuelle, familiäre und gemeindebezogene Prädiktoren psychischer Probleme identifiziert. Dieses Projekt wird von einem interdisziplinären Team aus den Bereichen des Gesundheitswesens, Pädiatrie, Sportphysiologie und der Entwicklungs- und Klinischen Psychologie durchgeführt.

Lebensverlaufsmodell frühen Substanzgebrauchs

Diese Studie testet ein Lebensverlaufsmodell von frühem Substanzgebrauch anhand einer repräsentativen Stichprobe in den USA. Das Ziel ist es, a) das psychosoziale und biologische Risiko- und Resilienzumfeld frühen Substanzgebrauchs zu beschreiben, und auch b) die langfristigen Folgen frühen Substanzgebrauchs. Diese Studie wird von einem interdisziplinären Team aus den Bereichen Psychologie, Psychiatrie, Public Health und Biostatistik durchgeführt.