Orange Banner

Main Goals

The study pursues three main goals from a life-course perspective

  • The investigation of typical transitional patterns over the course of children’s and adolescents’ lives, as well as the examination of intra-individual development of social competencies and their interdependence with the acquisition of further skills and characteristics.
  • The study of inter-individual differences in the sequence of important transitions in children’s and adolescents’s lives, as well as the exploration of inter-individual differences in the development of skills as the result of different social circumstances at home, at school and at work, in the peer group and the wider social environment.
  • The analysis of typical transitional patterns in children’s and adolescents’ life courses and the evaluation of differences in competence between the birth cohorts resulting from social and cultural change which affects their living conditions and opportunities for action.

Orange Banner

Objectifs principaux

Dans la perspective du parcours de vie, l’étude poursuit trois objectifs principaux:

  • La recherche de transitions répondant à un modèle-type durant l’enfance et la jeunesse et l’examen du développement intra-individuel des compétences sociales et de leur interaction lors de l’acquisition d’autres compétences et attributs propres à chaque personnalité.
  • L’examen des différences individuelles suite à des transitions importantes dans la vie des enfants et des jeunes et l’étude des différences entre individus dans le développement de compétences comme conséquence de la variabilité des conditions sociales au sein de la famille, de l’école, sur le lieu de travail, parmi leurs pairs ainsi que dans un environnement social plus large.
  • L’analyse des modèles-type de transition dans le parcours de vie des enfants et des jeunes et l’analyse des différences de compétences entre les cohortes de même âge en raison d’un changement social et culturel touchant les conditions de vie et les possibilités d’agir.