Orange Banner

Main Goals

The study pursues three main goals from a life-course perspective

  • The investigation of typical transitional patterns over the course of children’s and adolescents’ lives, as well as the examination of intra-individual development of social competencies and their interdependence with the acquisition of further skills and characteristics.
  • The study of inter-individual differences in the sequence of important transitions in children’s and adolescents’s lives, as well as the exploration of inter-individual differences in the development of skills as the result of different social circumstances at home, at school and at work, in the peer group and the wider social environment.
  • The analysis of typical transitional patterns in children’s and adolescents’ life courses and the evaluation of differences in competence between the birth cohorts resulting from social and cultural change which affects their living conditions and opportunities for action.

Orange Banner

Zielsetzung

Die Studie verfolgt aus einer Lebenslaufperspektive drei Hauptziele:

  • Die Erforschung typischer Muster von Übergängen im kindlichen und jugendlichen Lebensverlauf sowie die Untersuchung der intra-individuellen Entwicklung sozialer Kompetenzen und ihrer Wechselwirkung mit der Aneignung weiterer Lebenskompetenzen und Persönlichkeitsattribute.
  • Die Untersuchung inter-individueller Unterschiede in der Abfolge wichtiger Übergänge im kindlichen und jugendlichen Lebensverlauf sowie die Erforschung der inter-individuellen Unterschiede in der Kompetenzentwicklung bei Kindern und Jugendlichen als Folge unterschiedlicher sozialer Bedingungen in der Familie, der Schule, am Arbeitsplatz, in der Peer-Gruppe und der weiteren sozialen Umgebung.
  • Die Analyse von typischen Mustern von Übergängen im kindlichen und jugendlichen Lebensverlauf und die Analyse von Kompetenzunterschieden zwischen den Geburtskohorten infolge von sozialem und kulturellem Wandel, welcher die Lebensbedingungen und Handlungsmöglichkeiten von Kindern und Jugendlichen tangiert.