Orange Banner

Research Questions

  • What do the typical life-course patterns of children and adolescents in the different birth cohorts look like and how greatly do they vary?
  • How do children and adolescents acquire social and other skills while growing up? What are the main developmental milestones and when are they completed? How do different types of competences develop? Does interaction between the different competences take place? Do early deficits in the development of competences persist or can they be made up over time?
  • What relations exist between family and the school environment, peers and transitions in the course of life? Are there associations between contextual factors and the subsequent development of competences and skills? What impact does coping with important transitions over one’s life course have on the development of different kinds of competences?
  • What role do different kinds of competence play in coping with important transitions in the course of life?
  • How does social change influence the typical pattern of individual life courses and the intra-individual development of competences and skills? To what extent does it affect important contextual factors and social resources? Does social change lead to alterations in important transitions in life and change the milestones regarding the process of developing competences?
  • What do the living conditions, life courses, life experiences, skills and competences of 6, 15 and 21 year-olds look like? To what extent do they vary within a birth cohort?
  • How are children and adolescents assessed with regard to their skills and competences by the most important caregivers in their environment (parents and teachers) and what aspirations do they hold for their life courses?
  • What kind of impact do living conditions as well as assessments of important caregivers (parents and teachers) have on the various phases of children’s and adolescents’ lives (also considering values, skills, and competences)?

Orange Banner

Questions de recherche

  • Quels sont les parcours-types des enfants et des jeunes des différentes cohortes d’âge et dans quelle mesure varient-ils?
  • Comment les enfants et les jeunes acquièrent-ils leurs compétences sociales et autres durant la croissance? Quels sont les principaux pas à franchir en cours de développement (Milestones) et à quel moment sont-ils franchis? Comment les différents genres de compétences se développent-ils? Quel type d’interaction y a-t-il entre les diverses compétences? Les retards s’étant manifestés tôt dans le développement de compétences persistent-ils ou peuvent-ils se résorber avec le temps?
  • Quels liens existe-t-il entre l’entourage familial et scolaire et les pairs et les transitions dans le parcours de vie? Y a-t-il des relations entre les facteurs contextuels et le développement plus tard de compétences et de capacités? Quel rôle le franchissement de seuils importants dans le parcours des enfants et des jeunes joue-t-il dans le développement des différents types de compétences?
  • Quel rôle les divers types de compétences jouent-ils pour gérer les transitions importantes dans le parcours d’une vie?
  • De quelle manière les changements sociaux influencent-ils les modèles-types de parcours individuels ainsi que le développement intra-individuel de compétences et de capacités? Dans quelle mesure modifient-ils les facteurs contextuels importants et les ressources sociales? Les changements sociaux conduisent-ils à une modification des transitions importantes dans le parcours d’une vie et à un déplacement des seuils dans le processus de développement de compétences?
  • A quoi ressemblent les conditions de vie, parcours, expériences, capacités et compétences des enfants de 6 ans, des jeunes de 15 ans et de 21 ans? Dans quelle mesure varient-ils au sein d’une même cohorte d’âge?
  • Comment les principales personnes de référence de l’entourage de ces enfants et de ces jeunes (parents, enseignants) apprécient-elles leurs capacités et compétences et à quoi aspirent-elles pour ces enfants et ces jeunes durant leur période de croissance?
  • Quelle signification ont les conditions de vie et les appréciations des principales personnes de référence (parents, enseignants) pour ces enfants et ces jeunes à chaque étape de l’enfance et de la jeunesse et quelle influence ont-elles dans l’acquisition des valeurs, capacités et compétences.