Trends in Youth Violence

The Zurich Youth Surveys (ZYS)

YouthViolence

Switzerland’s unique survey series on time trends in youth violence and delinquency

The question of whether youth violence in Switzerland is increasing or decreasing has attracted public and media attention ever since the 1990s. To shed light on this issue, we have been conducting the "Zurich Youth Surveys" on the basis of representative samples of students in the canton of Zurich since 1999. These methodologically identical self-report surveys, conducted among high school students in 1999, 2007, and 2014, are unique in Switzerland as they reveal long-term trends in youth violence beyond figures from official statistics. A particular focus of the study is on violence in the public space, another on sexual and dating violence.

In 2021, a new survey will be conducted following the same self-report methodology as in the first three surveys. This allows the investigation of trends in self-reported youth violence over the last 22 years. In addition to 2,500 grade 9 students, 1,000 grade 11 (age 17-19) students are to be interviewed as in 2014 and, for the first time, 1,000 grade 7 (age 13-14) students.

The current Zurich Youth Survey is directed by Dr. Denis Ribeaud and is logistically and financially supported by the Canton of Zurich. Further support (in-kind and financial) is provided by the Jacobs Center for Productive Youth Development of the University of Zurich, the Federal Social Insurance Office and the Swiss Crime Prevention.

Trends Jugendgewalt

Die Zürcher Jugendbefragungen (ZYS)

YouthViolence

Eine für die Schweiz einzigartige Befragungsreihe zur längerfristigen Entwicklung der Jugendgewalt und -delinquenz

Die Frage, ob Gewalt unter Jugendlichen in der Schweiz zu- oder abnimmt zieht seit den 1990er Jahren die öffentliche und mediale Aufmerksamkeit auf sich. Um Licht in dieses Dunkel zu bringen, führen wir seit 1999 die «Zürcher Jugendbefragungen» in Repräsentativstichproben von Lernenden im Kanton Zürich durch. Diese methodisch identischen Befragungen, welche in den Jahren 1999, 2007 und 2014 unter Neuntklässlern (15-16 Jahre) durchgeführt wurden, sind in der Schweiz einzigartig und erlauben jenseits amtlicher Statistiken Aussagen zur Entwicklung der Jugendgewalt. Die Studie fokussiert speziell auf Gewalt im öffentlichen Raum sowie auf sexuelle Gewalt und Gewalt in Paarbeziehungen.

Im Jahr 2021 wird eine neue Erhebung nach derselben Methodologie wie in den ersten drei Befragungen realisiert. Damit können Trends zur Jugendgewalt im Dunkelfeld über die letzten 22 Jahre untersucht werden. Wie bereits 2014 werden zusätzlich zu 2'500 Neuntklässlern auch 1'000 Elftklässler (17-19 Jahre) befragt und erstmals auch 1'000 Siebtklässler (13-14 Jahre).

Die aktuelle Zürcher Jugendbefragung wird von Dr. Denis Ribeaud geleitet und logistisch und finanziell vom Kanton Zürich (Bildungsdirektion, Sicherheitsdirektion, Direktion der Justiz und des Inneren) unterstützt. Weitere Unterstützung (in-kind und finanziell) erfolgt vom Jacobs Center der Universität Zürich, vom Bundesamt für Sozialversicherungen sowie von der Schweizerischen Kriminalprävention.